Plans 💳 : Everyone
User Permissions 👥: Admins, Managers
Head to the People section from your left navigation menu. Then click the +New user button in the upper-left section of the page:
Add their name and email address (but note that name cannot include digits, so any numbers will need to be typed out).
Note: Please make sure the user's email address has already been created within your company. If the email address has not been created before you add the user to Timely, the activation link email will bounce.
Next, set their User Access Level. Choose between Employee, Manager, or Admin. You can read about limiting a user's access level here.
You also have the option of hiding the user's individual billable rate and cost rate, ensuring that only admins and managers can view that information.
Capacity & Working days
Here you'll assign capacity. This is how many hours per week you expect this user to work.
In this section you'll choose the default billable rate, that being the total cost for time spent, along with the internal cost rate, the amount of the labor cost for this individual.
The default billable rate should be billed unless a project is designated non-billable, or if there's a separate project rate that needs to be applied.
If at any point after you've added a user and you need to change their default billable rate, you can specify how the rate change is applied. Please note that:
The new rate will only be applied to new projects the user is added to
The new rate is applied to all projects, meaning that previously entered hours will be updated to reflect the rate change
The new rate will only be applied to projects with the previously set billable rate
Projects & Hourly Rates
In this section, you will designate which projects a user will be assigned to and their hourly rate per project. Click the Project drop-down menu to select all projects the user will be a part of. This saves you from having to go to each Project page.
Then set the user's hourly rate per project. If you've entered a default hourly rate for the user, this amount will auto-fill for all projects with an Individual Rates option.
You are unable to edit the user's hourly rate for projects that have been set up with the Same rate for everyone.
Teams lets you organize your team members into useful groups. It’s especially helpful if you have more than 20 users in your company, or want to easily be able to manage and report on different groups of people, or Teams, simultaneously.
You can add users to as many teams as you like. Just search by name or use the drop-down menu.
Once you've invited a user to Timely, they'll receive an invite email with a one-time activation link. They simply click the link and set up their password. They'll now be able to track time on Timely! 🎉
If you've invited a user and they haven't received their activation email yet, you can resend the activation link from the People tab:
*Keep in mind that you can only resend an invite once every 24 hours.
Note: Any new users added to your workspace will count towards your total number of seats. As new seats are added, you'll see those reflected on your Timely invoices and regular billing.