To be able to present the data, we have to be able to access it. It has to be accessible in order to run our algorithm to do analysis for grouping your work and to remove the things that are just noise, etc.
So in theory, the most senior developers on our team do have access if they opened the database directly and dug deep. However, we do not allow that. There are several processes in place internally at Timely to prevent any kind of spying or looking through data without a specific reason.
This is your private data and we intend to keep it exactly that.
Does the Memory Tracker have full access to my computer?
The Memory Tracker app for macOS or Windows does not have full access to everything that is going on inside your computer. It only sends basic information about the applications you are using.
For example if you have Google Chrome active on a website it will send the current window title, which in most cases will be the name of the website, together with a timestamp and some information about what application our software thinks it was.
This is used to display the correct icon on your timeline.
Here is an example of a row of data collected by our Memory Tracker:
Also note that:
- The Memory tracker does not track websites when viewed in Google Chrome's private/incognito mode.
- You can turn off tracking at any time by clicking the Memory Tracker icon and toggling the button: